COVID-19 Opening hours and events are subject to change. Please check the website links in the description for the latest info.

Second Tuesday Presents Queering Lockdowns: NYC After the Pandemic

Second Tuesday Presents Queering Lockdowns: NYC After the Pandemic
Writers Jeremiah Moss and Jen Jack Gieseking sit in conversation about the future of NYC’s queer spaces after the COVID-19 lockdown. What has happened in the past? How will spots where LGBTQ people gather be different after 2021? ABOUT THE SPEAKERS Jeremiah Moss’s best-selling book “Vanishing New York: How a Great City Lost Its Soul” is an unflinching chronicle of gentrification in the twenty-first century and a love letter to lost New York. Vanity Fair called it “essential reading for fans of Jane Jacobs, Joseph Mitchell, Patti Smith, Luc Sante, and cheap pierogi.” His new book “Feral City” will be out in 2021. Jen Jack Gieseking’s important study “A Queer NYC: Geographies of Lesbians, Dykes, and Queers” is the first lesbian and queer historical geography of New York City. Over the past few decades, rapid gentrification has led to the disappearance of many lesbian and queer spaces, displacing some of the most marginalized members of the LGBTQ+ community. Gieseking highlights the historic significance of these spaces, mapping the political, economic, and geographic dispossession of a thriving community that once called certain neighborhoods home.

Date

Tuesday, March 9, 2021 19:00 -
Tuesday, March 9, 2021 23:59

Location

Online event
You need to turn on javascript to run this application.