For 40 years the San Francisco Gay Men’s Chorus has lacked a permanent home – until now. The Chorus’ new home is a four-floor property near the historic Castro neighbourhood and its queer scene. The building houses rehearsal and office space, conference rooms, and community engagement spaces. This is a space that can bring the chorus and community together for events such as master classes, lectures, symposia, and sing-ins, and the community to join the chorus.
The building was designed by architect Harold Stoner and completed in 1930 for the Independent Order of Foresters, a fraternal society that sought a space for convenings. The building has a classic art deco façade showcasing scallops, scrolls and floral motifs quintessential to the time period. From 1976 until 2018, the space was used as the city's center for the Bahá’í faith.
The interior has more than 23,000 square feet, including a spacious lobby, auditorium, stage, dressing rooms, office space, multiple conference rooms, kitchens, and storage.